Rihanna! Taking Over the Makeup industry?

When I first heard about Rihanna’s makeup line coming out I was ecstatic! Rihanna, the fashion icon, singer, and actor? I knew 100% that I would make sure I would get my hands on at least one of her products. I (guiltily) ended up spending around $130 on her products even after I said I’d only get one.

Rihanna’s Fenty Beauty caters to a large amount of people with different skin tones and undertones. As a women of color she understands the struggle of limited makeup selections and committed her brand to diversity and inclusiveness.

The foundation comes in a # of shades from pale paper white skin tones, to the deepest shade of chocolate.

It’s believed that companies don’t typically cater to different skin tones because they believe they’ll profit more off lighter skin tones, but with the release of Fenty Beauty, this belief was proved incorrect. Black women, and deeper skin tones are a great market and makeup companies cannot ignore this!

shades

The foundation shades managed to sell out in online Sephora stores. This is important because it sends out a message to other brand that they need to step up their game. After the release of Fenty Beauty and the positive reaction the line received for the large selection of foundation shades (40 shades) with more to come, companies attempted to compensate and remind people that their companies also have a large range of foundation shades.

Makeup Forever is an example of one of these brands and Rihanna went so far as to comment saying their shades are “still ashy.” I’ve purchased a Makeup Forever foundation before, and I’ll say this quietly, but I have to agree with Rihanna on the ashiness!

Before buying my foundation I made sure to watch plenty of Youtube videos and reviews on the foundation. My favorite beauty influencer, Jackie Aina, did a full review on all the Fenty Beauty products. She gives a very honest review with some entertainment so if you were interested on learning about the products she is a great person to watch! You can watch the video here: 

Here is the link of Rihanna commenting on Makeup Forever’s Instagram post: https://www.instagram.com/p/BZhP6z6l2Kw/

Leave a Reply

