Your Token Horse Girl

I am your token horse girl. I have ridden horses since I was twelve years old and I haven’t stopped since. I remember being young and obsessed with animals, yet I didn’t have the resources to do much with them. I had a dog, but that was all.

I started working at a therapy barn when I was in seventh grade, and interacting with the horses and the people there made it very clear to me that I needed to start riding. I saw all the other kids having fun and I knew that I needed to get in on that.

After volunteering for awhile there, I was offered a working student position where I would be able to work form riding lessons and riding time. It was truly a dream come true. I started riding right away and slowly started getting the basics under my belt. I didn’t know it at that point, but horses would become a part of me.

I started riding at an eventing barn a few years later. Eventing is a competition comprised of three separate events. There is dressage, which is basically horse dancing, stadium jumping, and cross-country jumping. I learned how to jump, but jumping has never really been my forte. I always get too nervous and it hinders my performance, so I have never jumped very high.

By this point in my career, I knew that working with horses was what I wanted to do for a career. As a junior in high school, I toured Johnson and Wales University and their equine program. The major is called Equine Business Management and Riding, and I fell in love with it upon visiting. I have been going to school there for two years already, and I know I made a great decision. I get to ride for credits, and there is nothing more I could ask for. 10250283_671765952878646_6340071546197203018_n

Here is a link to one of the best dressage riders in the world and her horse, Valegro:

https://www.usdf.org – the main organization for dressage in the US

 

Leave a Reply

