Rae Yen Tan’s Introductory Blog Post

 I have been downhill skiing for fun every winter since the age of six. Although I do not get to go skiing very often each winter, as I did when I was younger, it’s an activity I still wholeheartedly enjoy to this very day. I was never exactly a hard-core athlete, which was completely okay with my parents, but they thought being active physically was at least important for my brother and I, so they signed us up for skiing lessons. Learning to ski was an adjustment, and I fell down more times than I can remember. But eventually I got better at skiing, and overtime, I progressed through the different levels of skiing – beginner green trails, intermediate blue trails, and advanced black trails. Once I fully got the hang of skiing, I really embraced the sport. I also learned that learning to ski is like riding a bike – once you learn, you never forget. Every time I return to the mountain, any feeling of trepidation I had (i.e.. “It’s been a year since I have gone skiing, what if I can’t ski?) disappears pretty quickly, because the ability to ski, fortunately, comes back the minute my feet hit the slopes. Skiing is a fun, exhilarating recreational sport for me, and it is an even better experience with my brother and our friends. Sometimes we like to have friendly competitions and race each other back to the bottom of the slopes, but most of the time, we just like to enjoy our time on the mountain. Besides enjoying the actual sport of skiing, my brother and friends and I also like having conversations with one another on the chair lift that takes us up the mountain. It’s a fun, relaxing way to talk about things, and, if we have not seen each other in a while, catch up.

Skiing.jpg
Me at a ski resort in 2012.

For all the joy skiing brings to me, it is a wonderful thing that I will never get tired of. Heck, when I have kids, I am going to sign them up for skiing lessons! If they do not particularly take to it, that is completely okay with me, but it’s an experience I would like for them to have at least once. I will leave this video link here for anybody who is interested in possibly getting ski equipment if they want to try out the sport; equipment is the first thing I learned about when I took skiing lessons, so I think this video is important to watch: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AR7C5qWvuUc

Also, here is a great article for beginner skiers: http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2017-02-19/11-things-you-need-to-know-before-learning-to-ski

I would enthusiastically recommend skiing to anyone who wants to give it a try! Good luck, and have fun on the slopes!

Leave a Reply

