Healthy but Heavenly

My family has been driven by healthy/organic food for around 6 years now. This life change occurred right around the time my sister, Rebecca, graduated college and moved back home. She had taken a few classes that focused on nutrition and what “normal” foods contain versus organic foods. After my sister labeled herself as an expert she began to change my family for good and our grocery list permanently.

There are definitely both pros and cons of only eating organic food.

Some of the pros include:

  • No harmful ingredients
  • Having a healthier diet
  • Straying away from GMOs

While some of the cons include:

  • A more expensive grocery trip
  • Not being able to find tasty organic food

One of the main cons I have personally struggled with has been not being able to find yummy organic foods. My mother, Pamela, is a wizard. She finds the organic version to anything. I love Cinnamon Toast Crunch, but my mother shrieked at the ingredients so she now buys an organic version of this cereal. Although she finally found a similar organic cereal I have to say the taste is definitely not that great. I was a little disappointed throughout this change until my sister introduced the family to a restaurant called Flatbreads.

Flatbreads is located in Bedford, MA. There is a lot to say about this restaurant. The food, the waiters, and the environment is extremely authentic. Everything is rustic looking from the glazed wooden tables and chairs to the multiple gigantic rock beams posted into the ground. The ceiling contains over a dozen hand crafted glass blown sculptures as chandeliers. Regarding the waiters and waitresses, everyone is unique, genuine, and friendly. Even Flatbread’s menus are authentic and designed by customers!fbs menu

All of the food is all organic and/or locally produced. The menu includes a variety of salads and pizzas including the special pizzas that change weekly, and of course there is a lovely dessert menu. To see Flatbread’s authentic environment up close click on the link!

My family goes every Friday to Flatbread’s and our original favorite pizzas are the Jay’s Heart and the Punctuated Equilibrium. The Jay’s Heart pizza is a yummy cheese pizza with herbs, and the Punctuated Equilibrium includes goat cheese, peppers, and olives. They are both delicious. In the picture shown below the Punctuated Equilibrium is up top and a weekly special buffalo chicken pizza is underneath. fbsAny restaurant I got to I’m always interested in the dessert, and Flatbread’s never disappoints me. The dessert menu is definitely simple with not too many options, but around the holidays or special events the menu gets altered or new dishes are added. I usually get the whoopee pie and it comes with ice cream, whip cream, and hot fudge. At one point there was a maple syrup whoopee pie and it was the most amazing dessert I have ever had. Maple syrup was served on the side of this dish and it was definitely extra sweet, but I was obsessed and repeatedly ordered it until it was taken off of the menu!

Flatbread’s is known for a welcoming feel and amazing food. I love going here, and I’m excited each time. My family and I are now weekly visitors so we have even developed relationships with some of the waiters and we feel at home! I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of eating organic with Flatbread’s around!

Leave a Reply

